Bulk deleting classes

The Classroom Explorer lets you perform many bulk actions on classes. This lets you perform one action on many classes at once. One such bulk action is deleting classes. Bulk deletion of classes may be an appropriate action when:

  • You need to eliminate PROVISIONED or DECLINED classes from a prior year or semester before provisioning new classes. This is a recommended part of rollover procedures to avoid confusion for teachers.
  • There is a major error during the class provisioning process. For example, when a malformed or poorly-constructed alias has resulted in course duplication

Bulk deletion of ACTIVE and ARCHIVED classes is not currently supported by Little SIS Sync. The reasons are that:

  • It is safe to assume that teachers have used ACTIVE classes. The more appropriate administrative action is to bulk archive them.
  • Teachers frequently reuse assignments from ARCHIVED classes.


Note: Teachers can delete individual classes from the Classroom interface.

To bulk delete classes:

  1. Navigate to the Classroom Overview in the Little SIS Sync Agent app. 
  2. Apply the State filter to PROVISIONED or DECLINED
  3. Multi-select the  PROVISIONED or DECLINED classes that you wish to delete.
  4. Click on the three dots menu and select Delete XX selected classes. 3DotsMenu.svg
    DeletingBulkMenuHL.svg
  5. The Delete Classes pop up opens. Here you’ll work through the 3 step approval process for deleting classes.  Step 1, Review Classes. Review the classes and deselect classes you do not wish to delete.
    Screen_Shot_2017-08-23_at_8.11.48_AM.png
  6. Click Next.
  7. Step 2, Indicate Alias Handling Performance. Select an option:
    • Save a Class Exception for each class alias to prevent jobs from re-creating them (recommended).
    • Allow classes with the same aliases as these deleted classes to be created in the future. Note: In this step, you decide how to handle aliases for these deleted classes. Remember, Little SIS Sync uses aliases to uniquely identify a class when running a sync job. If an existing job contains aliases that don't match any aliases of classes already on the domain, a new class will be created. This means that deleting a class along with its alias can result in that same class being re-created by an existing job. If this is a concern, you should Save a class exception for each deleted class to prevent jobs from re-creating them.

      If you are planning to recreate classes with the same alias, select the second option. 
      AliasHandlingSaveExceptionsHL.svg
  8. Click Next.
  9. In step 3, Confirmation Action. Click Proceed - I want to delete the selected classes.
    Screen_Shot_2017-08-23_at_8.47.31_AM.png