Admins: Frequently asked questions

Will Little SIS Sync work with my SIS?

So far, we've not come across an SIS that can't work with Little SIS Sync. We designed the app to be easy to set up and very flexible in its requirements. As long as the following are true, you can set up Little SIS to run fully-automated roster syncs:

  • Your SIS offers a way for you to build or request CSV exports that contain student class enrollments. Learn more about Little SIS Sync data requirements.
  • You have a mechanism for delivering SIS data exports to a directory on the local network where you have Little SIS Sync Agent installed. This is usually accomplished via SFTP or SMB share mapping and is quite common practice.

Will Little SIS Sync impact Classroom classes used for PD, clubs, or other special purposes that are not a part of our SIS?

No. Little SIS Sync will only impact classes that are part of sync jobs you create from SIS data.

Will Little SIS Sync update Classroom classes that teachers have already created?

Yes, but optional. During sync analysis and staging, you can identify and link to pre-existing teacher classes. These are classes with a roster and naming overlap with a class that's part of the sync job. When you link a pre-existing teacher class, the teacher receives a notification. The notification lets teachers know they will see automated Classroom roster updates in all future syncs. Alternatively, you can exclude pre-existing classes from syncs. You can also provision a new class instead of linking to the existing one. In general, it's a best practice to examine your classes and take advantage of linking to pre-existing teacher classes. 

We don't want teachers to know which students are in their classes until we finalize the master schedule. Can I create classes for teachers without populating the students?

Yes, Little SIS Sync can create classes without adding or updating student enrollments. Open the Edit Job screen and Navigate to Roster Updates. Uncheck the boxes on this page:

  • Add any newly-SIS-enrolled students to classes
  • Remove non-SIS-enrolled students from classes

RosterUpdatesNoneSelectedHL.svg
When you are ready to update student enrollment in Classroom, come back and select these options.

Typically teachers add additional teachers as co-teachers. There are times our teachers manually add resource teachers, paraprofessionals, or independent-study students to their Classroom classes as unofficially-enrolled students. Will Little SIS Sync remove these manually added teachers during sync?

Little SIS Sync works off of the roster data in your SIS. Because of this, you must take additional steps to prevent the removal of unofficial, teacher-enrolled, or professionals. You need to add their email address to the Roster Exceptions list. Once they are identified as an exception, they are not identified for removal during sync. If staff and students are on different domains or subdomains, you can add a wildcard exception. Example: (*@domainname.org)


Currently, Little SIS does not support class-specific roster exceptions. Roster Exceptions are global. They apply across all classes in all sync jobs.

Can Little SIS Sync add co-teachers to Classroom classes?

It depends on the scenario. Little SIS Sync does not add SIS-listed co-teachers to Classroom classes. These are co-teachers added by a teacher within Classroom. But if the SIS primary teacher changes, Little SIS retains them as a co-teacher. Added co-teachers are different than teachers who move to a co-teacher position during a teacher change. Let's take a closer look at what happens during a teacher change. 

When a primary teacher changes in an Active Little SIS Sync Classroom, the original owner is retained as a co-teacher. Ownership of the Classroom and all related resources transfer to the new teacher. The new teacher can then remove the original teacher in the Classroom settings.

What happens if we change our primary domain after we set up Little SIS Sync?

As far as we know, a primary domain name does not affect Classroom classes. 

Does Little SIS Sync update automatically when a new version is released?

Sort of. When an update is available, Little SIS Sync automatically downloads it. When launched, Little SIS Sync lets users know there is an update. The downloaded update is available for installation from the help dialog. Little SIS Sync admins also receive an email when there is a new update.  If you choose not to install the update, you can always go to the main help dialog within Little SIS and install it when you're ready.

AdminFAQUpdateHL.svg

Are teachers able to change the name of their Classroom classes if we use Little SIS Sync?

Yes, teachers are able to change the name of their Classroom classes within Classroom. You may opt to ignore or override these changes within the Job Update preferences screen.

SyncJobStep2OverridesHL.svg

Leaving all checkboxes unchecked lets your teacher's class name changes persist. Changes persist even when classes sync automatically with Little SIS Sync.

Does Little SIS Sync automatically add teachers to the Classroom Teachers Group on my GSuite domain?

Not yet, but it's on our roadmap. Teachers are not added to the Classroom Teachers group on your domain when Little SIS Sync creates their classes. The class is still created and updated with Little SIS syncing. Teachers then need to be manually added to the Classroom Teachers group. Once added, teachers can turn on parent notifications.

Can I search for or bulk archive classes based on the class term?

Yes. You can use the Class Alias filter to select classes based on the term. For the filter to work, you must use Term ID as a part of the Class Alias during job creation. 

What happens to student's work and grades when they change classes?

The way Google Classroom handles student roster changes ensures that the student's work in Drive is not lost. But the work may need to be shared with the new teacher. 

The grades in Classroom are also not lost. Grades are only accessible if the student is re-added to the class at a later date. Grades are not available to the new teacher when a student changes classes. 

What do I need to do if I need to switch Little SIS Sync Agent to a new server after I've already set it up?

You can migrate Little SIS Sync Agent and its jobs to a new server location. We will need to get on a short call with you to walk through the process. Please open a ticket with us to get this scheduled.

Is there a way to merge classes that have been created?

You can't merge the classes after they have been created, unfortunately. A workaround would be to have one teacher accept the class, and the others decline theirs. Select the Remove non-SIS enrolled students from the classroom checkbox. Then have the teachers add the kids from the other classes into the accepted class.