What does it mean when a device is DISABLED?
When a Chrome device is disabled, all the user can see when turning on the Chrome device is a screen telling them that it’s been disabled, and your desired contact information of where to return the device. You can control your domain's return address and contact phone number from the G Suite admin console.
Important: Your devices will not be properly disabled unless you ensure that Forced Re-Enrollment is turned on.
From Google help article: The "disable" feature requires that the device is running Chrome version 40+. Device disabling does the following...
- Signs out any user on the device and takes them to the device disabled page. This page (above) informs anyone using the device that it’s disabled and has return instructions that you can customize for your domain.
- Once the disabled page is displayed, a user cannot sign in to the device, and it will stay in a disabled state until an admin re-enables or deprovisions the device.
- Returns licenses associated with the device(s) to the license pool while it remains in a disabled state.
- Removes the serial number from the default (“Provisioned”) view. To see the device in your Admin console, select “Disabled” from the filter.
You will want to re-enable a disabled device when a misplaced device is found or a lost device is returned. You can also use this feature if you accidentally mark a Chrome device as disabled. This feature works just like the disable feature, but in reverse!
Important note from Google help center:
Chrome license are returned to your organization's license pool when devices are disabled or unenrolled due to a same-model replacement. You must have available licenses to re-enroll a device or re-enable a disabled device.