End-of-year rollover best practices

Each new year brings changes. Maybe your class naming convention changed. Maybe you want to adjust inclusion/exclusion rules. You can edit your existing jobs to account for these changes. 

If you are scaling up to a complete district rollout, you can clone existing jobs or start from scratch. Whatever method you use, be sure you are provisioning all your classes. You can find more information on the job creation process here.

If your teachers have provisioned classes from the previous year, it is best practice to include the academic year in the Class Name mapping. This helps avoid any confusion between current and previous classes year over year. 

 

Delete previous years provisioned and declined classes

Any classes a teacher has not accepted continue to sit in their Classroom feed year after year. To remove these classes from the feed, teachers must delete or decline the class.

Declined classes also continue to show up in the Classroom Explorer. Over time this can make the view less useful. It is best practice to delete declined classes using the Bulk Delete feature in the Classroom Explorer. This ensures the smoothest experience for teachers at the start of the new school year. You can also use Little SIS for Classroom to delete classes in bulk - here is the relevant Helpdesk article.

 

Archive the previous year's active classes

It is best practice to archive the previous year's ACTIVE classes to streamline the student and teacher Classroom experience. This ensures that students are only accessing Classrooms for the current year. Their feed is not clogged up with out-dated Classroom information. Teachers can archive classes on their own. You can instruct them to archive classes at a time that is convenient for them. You can determine a cutoff date on which you will be bulk archiving the remaining classes. You can also use Little SIS for Classroom to archive classes in bulk - here is the relevant Helpdesk article.

As a reminder, archiving classes does not delete the class. Teachers and students can still access their Classroom data within Drive. Additionally, teachers can access archived classes on their Classroom page. They can also copy posts from archived classes. 

 

Run jobs manually 

You'll need to run your jobs manually and approve new class invitations or matches before you can automate the sync jobs. Once you ensure that the job performs as expected for the new school year, you can automate it.

You can find more information about approving class changes here. You can find more information about linking to existing classes here

 

Reset automation schedule 

Once you have run your initial manual job, you can now set your staged or automated schedule. This goes for the Guardian sync as well. We recommend resuming Guardian sync after the school year has started. You'll only need to update your guardian export from the SIS if academic year information was included in the query or file output. You can find more information about the automation schedule for a sync job here.