General terms and icons
The following are available in the left navigation pane in Little SIS Premium Sync.
Jobs > Roster sync jobs
This is a list of your sync jobs. From here, you can:
|Jobs > Roster exceptions||
A global list of individual users and email patterns not added or removed from a Classroom class during sync. Learn more.
|Jobs > Classroom exceptions||
A global list of individual classes to exclude from sync jobs. You can save class exceptions on the fly during your review of potential matches. Classroom exceptions are convenient, but you should use them sparingly. If you need to exclude many classes from a sync job, use job scope roles instead. Learn more.
|Files||A list of files that include source data used in your sync jobs. These could be the course or guardian data.|
|Guardians > Sync Job||
An area where you can analyze guardians, refresh guardian eligible students, and manage the guardian sync job.
|Guardians > Explorer||
An area where you can load and explore Classroom classes, users, rosters, and assignment data for all classes on your domain.
Lets teachers review SIS classes, including rosters, accept, decline, and merge their SIS classes, link SIS classes to an active Google Classroom class, and schedule Google Classroom provisioning.
Review & Action terms and icons
Jobs > Roster Sync Jobs > Review & Action
Below are the terms and icons admins will see when performing Review & Action for a sync job. A sync analysis compares the SIS classes and rosters in a job to the current state in Google Classroom and makes recommendations. Admins can review these recommendations via Review & Actions and stage, and commit actions in Classroom. During Review & Action, admins can perform several distinct action types listed below.
Note: If using Teacher Review, some action types will not be seen by admins since teachers are actioning classes themselves.
|New class to be created||
Selecting this action creates an invitation to teach a Classroom class (a.k.a. a PROVISIONED class). This invitation will be visible on the Teacher's Classroom home screen. It will not be visible to students until the teacher clicks Accept and the class becomes ACTIVE. If the teacher chooses to click Decline for the class, the class will enter the DECLINED state.
|Class to be updated||
When selected, a change occurs to the roster or a field within Classroom, depending on the job settings. You can preview the specific changes in the sync analysis interface.
This icon indicates a class has changed. Admins can review changes and approve or exclude the classes from sync.
|Class exception to be saved||
In Class Changes, if you select a class and click Exclude and Stage Class Exception, the class moves to Staged Action and displays this icon.
Once committed and the sync job runs, the class appears in Excluded Classes in Review & Action. During this and future syncs, the class will not change in Classroom.
|Link to existing class||
If the analysis detects candidate matches in Classroom, you have the opportunity to establish a link to the existing class. This link ensures roster syncs for that class going forward. Linking a class may also add/remove students during the sync. This happens when the teacher's current roster and Classroom roster differ
|Class to be excluded for this sync||
This option is available when reviewing detected candidate matching classes in Classroom. It can be helpful if decision-making information is lacking. It gives you the option to re-evaluate in later analysis.