Add or remove users from a group using the bulk update tool

From the Bulk sync tab of the Group Gator sidebar you can do the following:

Add/Remove users from groups in bulk

Bulk adding or removing users from the group is a two-step process. First, add or delete the email addresses in the sheet for the particular user(s) you’d like to add or remove from the group. Then, you’ll sync.

  1. From the Group Gator sidebar, be sure you’ve selected select groups to manage.
  2. Select the Bulk sync tab.
    MenuBulk2bHL.png
  3. In the [group name tab] Sheet, add or delete the email addresses for the particular user(s) you’d like to add or remove from the group.
  4. Select the checkbox for the group/groups you’d like to update. Check the Select all checkbox to select all groups.
  5. Click Preview and Apply Changes. You can see the changes that will be made to the spreadsheet. 
    BulkPreviewHL.png
  6. Click APPLY ALL CHANGES for the sync to begin.
    BulkApplyButtonHL.png

Verify changes

If you are unsure if changes have been applied, such as if a user has been successfully added. Look at the Sync status column in the spreadsheet. If Added to Google group on [date/time] is written on the same line as the user that was just added, then that means the sync was successful.

BulkVerifybHL.png

Updating a stale Sheet

Also included in the bulk sync tool is the Download from Google feature. If it’s been a long time since you’ve looked at a particular spreadsheet, and you’re not sure if the sheet is accurate or up to date, then it’s a good idea to use the Download from Google feature. This will load the most up-to-date group into the spreadsheet. It’s important to note the Google Sheet is a snapshot moment in time capture of what is on the domain.

  1. From the Group Gator sidebar, be sure you’ve selected select groups to manage.
  2. Select the Bulk sync tab.
  3. In the Select update direction drop-down, select Download from Google.
    BulkDownloadFromGoogleHL.png
  4. Select the checkbox for the group/groups you’d like to update. Check the Select all checkbox to select all groups.
  5. Click Preview and Apply Changes. You can see the changes that will be made to the spreadsheet. 
  6. Click APPLY ALL CHANGES for the sync to begin.