Take actions

 A reminder about class visibility and features in Little SIS 

Little SIS provides many powerful ways to explore the Google Classroom classes on your domain, but what you can see and do very much depends on what kind of user you are within Little SIS.

Super administrators can view ALL of the Google Classroom classes on a G Suite domain and have unlimited access to features within Little SIS.  Learn about features specific to super admins.

Not a super admin?

Depending on your assigned access you can be granted access to limited sets of classes within Little SIS.  Depending on your role, you may also have only a limited set of features available to you.  Learn more about how to determine what access and permissions you have.


Take actions

Little SIS keeps a live copy of all classes on your domain and makes these available for users to take actions via the Classroom Explorer, either on individual classes, or on multiple selected classes via the Bulk Action menu.

Joining a class as a co-teacher or student

The ability to join the class as a co-teacher or student allows administrators to gain better insights into the Classroom environment and better support the teachers and students.

To add yourself as a co-teacher or student, start in the Explorer:

  1. Search and select the classes you want to change.
  2. Click on Bulk Actions at the top of the explorer grid.
  3. To add as a co-teacher, navigate to Teacher Actions > Join selected class as a co-teacher.
    1. To add as a student, navigate to Student Actions > Join selected class as a student.
  4. Confirm the classes that you want to add yourself to.
  5. Type your name, and select your account when it populates.
  6. You can choose to notify the new teacher and customize the message.
  7. Proceed with the changes.

Screen_Shot_2019-08-19_at_1.30.52_PM.png

Editing primary and co-teachers

Primary Teachers are the owners of the classroom, as well as the class Google Drive folder. If you are a Little SIS Sync customer, the primary teacher is the only one who can accept the provisioned classes. A co-teacher is someone that can be added to a Classroom to help coordinate class activities. Both of these teachers can be managed within our tool, either on the individual Classroom, or in a bulk action.

To bulk change a primary teacher, start in the Explorer:

  1. Search and select the classes you want to change.
  2. Click on Bulk Actions at the top of the explorer grid.
  3. Navigate to Teacher Actions > Change primary teacher for selected classes.
  4. Confirm classes you want to change by selecting the class again.
  5. Enter the teacher new teacher's name, and select the account when it populates.
  6. You can choose to notify the new teacher and customize the message.
  7. Proceed with the changes.

To bulk add a co-teacher, start in the Explorer:

  1. Search and select the classes you want to change.
  2. Click on Bulk Actions at the top of the explorer grid.
  3. Navigate to Teacher Actions > Add co-teacher to selected classes.
  4. Confirm classes you want to change by selecting the class again.
  5. Enter the teacher new teacher's name, and select the account when it populates.
  6. You can choose to notify the new teacher and customize the message.
  7. Proceed with the changes.

Editing students

Managing student rosters can be a hassle. That is why we made the ability to add and remove students to Classrooms easy.

To bulk add students to classes, in the Explorer:

  1. Search for the class that the student needs to be added to.
  2. Select Bulk Actions at the top of the explorer grid.
  3. Navigate to Student Actions > Add students to selected classes.
  4. Confirm the classes you want to change by selecting the classes again.
  5. Either select or paste accounts of the students email address.
  6. You can choose to notify the teacher of the changes and customize the message.
  7. Proceed with the changes.

Screen_Shot_2019-08-16_at_3.23.25_PM.png

Archiving or deleting classes

We recommend archiving previous year classes and deleting previous year declined and provisioned classes to better organize and de-clutter your explorer.

To bulk archive or delete classes, start in the Explorer:

  1. Using the filters, you can filter by class state and timeframe tags to get a list to all previous year classes.
  2. Select them all and click on Bulk Actions at the top of the explorer grid.
  3. To archive, navigate Change Classroom State > Archive X selected classes.
    1. To delete, navigate to Change Classroom State > Delete X selected classes.
  4. Confirm the classes by selecting them again.
  5. You can choose to notify the teacher of the changes and customize the message.
  6. Proceed with the changes.

Screen_Shot_2019-08-19_at_1.51.27_PM.png

Updating Tags

School and Timeframe tags might need to be manually adjusted throughout the year to account for teacher changes or to enhance customizations. 

To bulk change tags, start in the Explorer:

  1. Search and select the classes you want to change the tags on.
  2. Click on Bulk Actions at the top of the explorer grid.
  3. Navigate to Update tags for X selected classes.
  4. Next to the tag you want to edit, first select the update check box.
  5. Then use the dropdown menu, or type the name of the tag you want to add. Or delete the tag that is currently there to remove it from the class.
  6. Confirm your changes.

Screen_Shot_2019-08-22_at_5.01.03_PM.png