Add and remove students from classes in bulk

Managing student rosters can be a hassle. That is why we made the ability to add and remove students to Classrooms easy.

Adding students in bulk

To bulk add students to classes, in the Explorer:

  1. Click (Explorer) from the menu on the left side of the screen. Google Classroom Explorer opens.
  2. Search for and select the classes you want to add students to.
  3. Click Bulk Actions at the top of the Explorer grid.
  4. Click Student actions.
  5. Click Add students to selected classes. The Add students stepper opens.
    AddStudentsBulkStepperHL.png
  6. Confirm classes you want to add students to by selecting the class again.
  7. Click Continue.
  8. Select how you will select students; Select Accounts or Past accounts.
  9. Depending on your Select students choice, enter the email/name of the student or type or past the email associated with the student's account.  
  10. If you are pasting accounts, click Validate.
  11. Continue selecting until you have all students who need to be added selected.
  12. Click Continue.
  13. You can choose to notify the primary teacher that new students have joined their class and
  14. customize the message.
  15. Click Continue.
  16. Review the changes that will be made.
  17. Click Proceed.

Removing students in bulk

To bulk remove students to classes, in the Explorer:

  1. Click (Explorer) from the menu on the left side of the screen. Google Classroom Explorer opens.
  2. Search for and select the classes you want to remove students from.
  3. Click Bulk Actions at the top of the Explorer grid.
  4. Click Student actions.
  5. Click Remove students from selected classes. The Class selected for student removal stepper opens.
    RemoveStudentsBulkStepperHL2.png
  6. Confirm classes you want to remove students from by selecting the class again.
  7. Click Continue.
  8. Enter the email/name of the student to remove. 
  9. Select the student from the search results.
  10. Continue selecting until you have all students who need to be removed selected.
  11. Click Continue.
  12. You can choose to notify the primary teacher that students have been removed from their class and customize the message.
  13. Click Continue.
  14. Review the changes that will be made.
  15. Click Proceed.