Teachers: Frequently Asked Questions

I noticed that the Drive folder and Google Calendar seem to be missing in a Little SIS Premium class, for which I just clicked Accept. How can I fix it?

This situation results from a behavior Google introduced to help reduce clutter in Drive and Calendar when an administrator creates many classes. It's called lazy resource creation, and they are working to improve it.
Getting your Calendar and Drive folder to appear is as easy as:

  • Calendar: Post any assignment type to the class. Refresh your browser.
  • Drive Folder:  Post an assignment with a Drive file in Make a copy for each student mode. Refresh your browser.

TeacherFAQ1.png

How can I tell the difference between an invitation to teach a course that Little SIS Premium created and an invitation to be a co-teacher sent to me by a colleague?

The class owner can invite co-teachers from the About page in a Classroom class. These invitations will look like what you see on the left in the image below. The primary teacher's Google Workspace avatar is visible, and the note says You've been invited to teach this class.

Little SIS Premium uses an admin account to create classes using Google's APIs. Invitations from Little SIS Premium look like the tile you see on the right in the image below. The note says You've been invited to teach this class by an administrator.

TeacherFAQ2.png

Who should I contact if Little SIS Premium is making unwanted changes to my Classroom rosters? 

Contact your IT department immediately if you need help with the roster changes. Don't worry too much if a student gets accidentally removed. They can be easily re-added. Your IT department will want to understand why it happened to prevent it from happening again. Researching the issue helps to identify any other problems with the student database.

Can I change the names of the classes made by Little SIS Premium, or will it mess up the sync?

You can change any field in the Classroom classes created or linked by Little SIS Premium. Unless your IT admin has said otherwise, Little SIS Premium only relies on the class name to match courses with the student information system.

Can I still create my custom classes for different purposes? For example, after-school clubs, differentiated reading groups, etc. 

Yes! Yet, you should know that these will not have their rosters synced by Little SIS Premium. These will be your responsibility to manage. If you choose to decline classes created by Little SIS Premium, you can also manage your regular classes on your own.

Will Little SIS Premium mess up existing Classroom classes we use for professional development or that we created for non-academic groups like clubs?

No. Little SIS Premium will only sync these if you merge them with a SIS class.

Does Little SIS Premium delete student work when it removes a student from my class? 

No. The students' work is still accessible to the teacher and the students via the Google Drive folder for the class. If the student is later re-added to the class, all of their work shows back up in Classroom.

It is important to note that students who change from one class to another will not have their previous work in their new class. They must share the Google Classroom folder with the new teacher to see work from a previous class.

Could Little SIS Premium ever accidentally delete my classes?

No. Little SIS Premium allows the IT Department to archive classes if they decide it's old and no longer active. That way, it helps keep things more straightforward for students. An archived class shows up in your Archived Classes list in Classroom. You can still re-use posts from an archived class and un-archive a class at any time. Little SIS Premium does not allow anyone to delete active or archived Classrooms.

What happens if a teacher change occurs in the middle of the year/semester? 

Suppose the student information system assigns a new teacher. In that case, Little SIS Premium will automatically transfer ownership of the Classroom and all associated resources to the new teacher, as long as it is not in the Provisioned or Declined state. The original teacher remains in the Classroom as a co-teacher, and it is optional to remove them.

Will Little SIS Premium alter with my class title, section, description, etc? 

If it made sense, it could be set up that way by your IT admin. Most of the time, teachers prefer to change the name of their classes, so your IT Department doesn't turn that feature on.

What happens to student's work and grades when they change classes?

How Google Classroom handles student roster changes ensures that Drive preserves the student's work. The grades in Classroom are only accessible if the student is re-added to the same class at a later date. Grades are not available to the new teacher when a student changes classes.

 

Document Version Date Description of Change
1.0 1/17/24 minor changes for readability, verified article

 

Articles in this section