Bulk Archive Classes

Video: Bulk Archive Classes

How to view video closed captions and transcripts

The Classroom Explorer lets you perform bulk actions on classes. This lets you perform one action on many classes at once. One such bulk action is archiving classes. Classroom classes not reused from year to year are good candidates for archiving. Once archived, a class no longer appears on the student Home screen in Classroom. 

A maintenance action for teachers is to archive their old classes. When teachers do not archive old Classes, it can create clutter and confusion for students. In that case, archiving in bulk can be a helpful administrative action. It is important to note that archiving classes on behalf of a teacher is non-destructive and fully reversible by the teacher.

Be sure to communicate to teachers that they will need to unarchive classes they want to link to in an upcoming academic year/term. 

To be bulk archived, classes must be in an ACTIVE state. To bulk archive classes you'll need to:

  • Identify unused classes in the Classroom Explorer
  • Select Classes to archive
  • Select the archive action
  • Confirm the archive

What Happens to an Archived Class?

  • Archiving a class removes it from teachers’ and students’ Classroom homepage. The class moves to a separate area to preserve class materials, student work, and posts. 
  • Teachers and students can still view an archived class. To use the class again, the teacher can restore it.
  • Teachers and students can access class materials for an archived class within the Google Drive folder.
  • Students can’t unenroll from an archived class.
  • Google Calendar retains the class calendar for teachers and students. Users can remove the calendar from view or permanently delete it.
  • An archived class stays in Google Classroom unless the primary teacher deletes it. 

Timing of Archiving Classes

Because of what happens to classes, the timing of your archival is important. You don’t want to archive classes that are still in session. The best time to archive classes is after teachers have finished submitting grades for the semester.

Bulk Archive Classes

  1. Click Explorer in the navigation pane at the left.
  2. Click Bulk Actions at the top of the Explorer grid.
  3. Click Bulk archive classes. The Bulk classroom cleanup wizard opens.
    bulkArchive.png
  4. Required. Enter a date to find ACTIVE classes created on or before that date.
  5. Filtering by date may return a large number of classes. You can filter further by one or more of the following: classes created via LSP, classes from one or more schools or classes taught by a specific teacher.
    • Check the Limit to classes managed by Little SIS Premium checkbox to find only those classes.
    • Select a school from the drop-down to limit classes to only a specific school. You can select more than one school.
    • Type or paste emails for teachers to limit classes to those specific teachers. Type or paste each on a new line. Then click Validate to validate their email.
  6. Click Continue.
  7. Confirm classes you want to archive by selecting the class.
  8. Click Continue.
  9. You can choose to notify the primary teacher that their class has been archived. Emails are sent by default. Clear the Send an email to primary teacher checkbox to not notify teachers via email.
  10. If sending the notification email, customize the message if necessary.
  11. Click Continue.
  12. The wizard indicates the number of classes you are about to archive. Enter that number in the Number of classes to be archived field.
  13. Click Archive.

 

Document Version Date Description of Change
     

 

Articles in this section

See more