Bulk Update Domain Groups

Video: Gopher for Users: Bulk Update Domain Groups

How to view video closed captions and transcripts

The Update Domain Groups feature lets you add and remove users from Google Groups managed via your Google Workspace domain. Bulk updating domain groups is a simple process:

  1. Load users to the Sheet in Gopher for Users
  2. Filter the sheet to locate users to add/remove from domain groups.
  3. Run the Update domain groups Bulk user action

Things to Keep In Mind

Adding or removing a user to/from domain groups requires that the data you input into these columns be valid for the possible changes performed on each user. The following are invalid values and will be ignored during the update if discovered during the preview process.

  • Can't both Add & Remove: You have entered the same group in the sheet's Add and Remove columns.
  • User is already a member: The user is already in the group to which you are trying to add them.
  • User is not a member:  You are trying to remove a user from a group they are not a member.
  • Can't operate on nonexistent group: You've misspelled or left off part of the domain group's email address or used an illegal separator between multiple groups. Groups must be comma-separated.
  • You can filter for each error type by clicking on the left-hand region bearing the relevant label.

Loading Users

When loading users to your Sheet, you can include current group membership to help you identify users that need to be added to or removed from domain groups.

  • On the Import Users to Sheet tab of the sidebar, check the Include Group Membership box to include the Current group membership column on the Sheet. Group Membership is a read-only column.

Note: This will increase the time it takes to load the users.

BulkUpdateGroupsIncludeGroup.png

Filtering Users

Filtering the Sheet by Current group membership can help you identify missing group members, those you will add or need to remove.

bulkUpdateGroups2.png

Running the Update Domain Groups Bulk User Action

  1. Click Bulk User Actions tab of the sidebar.
    bulkUpdateIcon.png
  2. Click Update domain groups.
  3. In the Domain group changes column, specify the groups users are to be added to or removed from. Separate multiple group names with a comma.
    AddRemoveGroupsHL.png
  4. Click Next. A preview of changes opens and can be viewed as a list or per user.
    Setting Description
    List View This is the default view.
    UpdateGroupsPreviewHL.png
    Per-User View Toggle the slider in the upper right corner of the preview modal to switch between list view and per-user view.
    PreviewUserViewHL.png
  5. Click Run Bulk Actions.
  6. Click Done to return to the sidebar.
  7. Click the back arrow to return to the Bulk user actions tab. 

 

Document Version Date Description of Change
     

 

Articles in this section